The Football Writers’ Association has named Raheem Sterling it's 2018/19 Footballer of the Year. 

Sterling won the vote with 62% of the country’s journalists voting in favour over Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk.

Van Dijk won the PFA Player Of The Year, others to be nominated were Sergio Aguero, Tottenham striker Harry Kane, Chelsea forward Eden Hazard, City pair Bernardo and David Silva and Arsenal forward Alexandre Lacazette.

Sterling has had a fantastic season on the pitch for Manchester City and has been vocal in fighting against racism and also calling out how the British media were portraying young black footballers.