On Sunday, France were crowned champions of world football after beating Croatia 4-2 in the World Cup final in Moscow. History was made as VAR was used for the first time ever in a World Cup final to award France a penalty, after Argentinian referee Nestor Pitana deemed Ivan Perisic’s handball as deliberate.

The first ever World Cup final own goal was scored by the unfortunate Mario Mandzukic, Griezmann scored from the spot, Paul Pogba got France’s third and Kylian Mbappe got the fourth. Mbappe became the first teenage to score in the World Cup final since Pele in 1958. The 19-year-old sensation also picked up the Young Player of the World Cup award.

France manager, Didier Deschamps, joins Mario Zagallo and Franz Beckenbauer as the only people to win the men's World Cup as a player and manager. Deschamps lifted the trophy as 20-years ago in 1998 as the captain of France. Whilst Zagallo was a champion for Brazil as a player in 1958 and as a manager in 1970. Beckenbauer did the same as a player for West Germany in 1974 and as a manager in 1990.